Three Trustees appointed to Texas County & District Retirement System board

Gov. Greg Abbott has appointed Susan Fletcher and Kara Sands, and reappointed Mary Louise Nicholson, to serve on the nine-member TCDRS Board of Trustees for terms set to expire on Dec. 31, 2023.

Susan Fletcher has served as the Collin County Commissioner for Precinct 1 since 2014. She is a current member of the Collin County Investment Committee and was appointed to the Texas State Board of Public Accountancy by Gov. Rick Perry. Fletcher received a Bachelor of Fine Arts in Commercial Interior Design from the University of North Texas and she’s a graduate of the Texas A&M V.G. Young Commissioners Court Leadership Academy (Class VI), and the Texas Association of Counties Leadership 254 (Class I).

Kara Sands has served as the Nueces County Clerk since 2015 and is currently serving her second term after winning re-election in 2018. She is one of only five County Clerks in the state who also serve as the County Treasurer. Sands is a member of the Nueces County Investment Committee, Nueces County Bail Bond Board and the Nueces County Housing Finance Corporation. She is also a member of the Texas Conference of Urban Counties and serves on the Legislative Committee of the County and District Clerks’ Association of Texas. As her county’s top Election Official, Sands is responsible for administering all county, state and federal elections in Nueces County.

Mary Louise Nicholson of Fort Worth is the Tarrant County Clerk, where she has served since 2011. She currently serves on the State Bar of Texas Grievance Committee, Tarrant County Bail Bond Board, and the Tarrant County Elections Commission. She is a member of the Property Records Industry Association, Texas Association of Counties, County and District Clerks’ Association of Texas. Additionally, she is a local member of the Hispanic Women’s Network of Fort Worth and Fort Worth Downtown Rotary. Nicholson received a Bachelor of Arts in criminal justice from The University of Texas at Arlington. Nicholson has served on the TCDRS Board of Trustees since 2013.


Contributing members and retirees of the system are eligible to serve on the board of trustees. Trustees are appointed by the governor and confirmed by the Texas Senate to serve staggered, six-year terms. They oversee all aspects of the retirement system’s operations, including the annual budget, policy determination, legislative proposals and investment policy.


TCDRS helps more than 305,000 Texans plan for their future, partnering with more than 780 Texas counties and districts to provide retirement, disability and survivor benefits. By providing attractive retirement benefits, we help our employers competitively hire and retain talented staff.

Created by the Texas Legislature in 1967, TCDRS has grown into a financially strong trust with nearly $30 billion worth of assets under management. TCDRS is one of the best-funded retirement plans in the nation and has been a model for providing reliable retirement benefits for more than 50 years. For more information, please visit our Governance page