Governor Appoints, Reappoints Trustees

The Texas County and District Retirement System (TCDRS) is pleased to announce a new appointment and two reappointments to its board of trustees.

The TCDRS board oversees the public retirement system, which serves more than 345,000 TCDRS members and retirees.

Gov. Greg Abbott appointed Samuel “Sammy” Farias and reappointed Chris Davis and Deborah Hunt for terms set to expire on December 31, 2027.


Samuel “Sammy” Farias, Bee County

Samuel “Sammy” Farias of Beeville is the Bee County Commissioner for Precinct 3. He is a licensed real estate broker and is the owner of Sammy’s Burger and Brew and Sambo Storage facilities. He is the first vice president of the South Texas County Judges and Commissioners Association, a member of St. Joseph’s Church Finance Committee, and a former member of the Beeville Independent School District Building Committee and Bee Clean Committee. Farias received an Associate Degree in Criminal Justice from Coastal Bend College and completed other collegiate coursework at Texas State University.


Judge Chris Davis, Cherokee County

Chris Davis of Alto is the County Judge for Cherokee County and has served on the TCDRS Board of Trustees since being appointed by Gov. Greg Abbott in 2016. He previously served as County Commissioner, Justice of the Peace for Precinct 2 and as Municipal Court Judge for the City of Alto. He is a member of the County Judges and Commissioners Association of Texas, a board member of the East Texas Regional Water Planning Group and the East Texas Council of Governments, and a former member of the East Texas Regional Review Committee. Davis received a Bachelor’s of Applied Arts and Sciences and a Master of Public Administration from Stephen F. Austin State University.


Deborah Hunt, Williamson County

Deborah Hunt of Georgetown has served on the TCDRS Board of Trustees since being appointed by former Gov. Rick Perry in 2013. She has served as the Vice-Chair of the TCDRS Board of Trustees since 2020. She is the former Williamson County Tax Assessor-Collector and is now retired. She is a former member of the Tax Assessor-Collectors Association of Texas, International and Texas Associations of Assessing Officers, Texas Association of Appraisal Districts, Williamson County Investment Committee, and the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles Registration and Titling Advisory Committee. Additionally, she is the former chair of the Williamson Central Appraisal District Board of Directors and a former member of the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts Property Tax Advisory Committee and North Austin Woman's Club. Hunt attended Trenton State College, now the College of New Jersey.


TCDRS trustees have oversight of all system operations, including the annual budget, policy determination, legislative proposals and investment policy.


Video Library

Rather watch than read? Check out our
informational videos.
Explore Now